Monday, August 18, 2014

A Higlander's Obsession by Vonnie Davis Virtual Book Tour (+Giveaway)


Blurb: In the vein of Jennifer Ashley’s Shifters Unbound series and Shelly Laurenston’s Pride Stories, Vonnie Davis introduces two wandering souls who discover that true love needs no words in this explosive, fantastical novel. 

Two wandering souls discover that true love needs no words in this explosive, fantastical novel from Vonnie Davis.

Somehow able to telepathically communicate with animals, Paisley Munro has found meaning in her so-called gifts by working as a veterinary assistant. But while traveling to Scotland for a relative’s funeral, Paisley fears that she really has lost her mind. Out in the highlands, she hears distinctly human thoughts coming from a wild bear. Terrified and desperate, she returns to the lodge and collapses in the powerful arms of its owner, a mysterious man with whom she shares a simmering attraction.

Creighton Matheson and his fellow shape-shifters have been roaming this land freely for centuries. Now Paisley may inherit his home, putting his kind in grave danger. His mistrust only deepens when he realizes she can read his mind. Yet he cannot deny that this tantalizing woman makes him burn with desire—and hunger for the prospect of a tender love. Now Creighton must decide which would hurt more: revealing the truth or losing Paisley forever.

Excerpt: An hour later, Creighton carried Paisley into the warmth of the kitchen, using the layer of ice on the ground as an excuse to hold her in his grasp. With her expert help, two healthy foals were born. She’d worked hard on delivering the second, smaller one. Both the scope of the complications and the strength of Paisley’s skills impressed him. Dark circles on her pale face proclaimed exhaustion.

“I’ll carry ye up to yer suite. Ye look dead on yer tiny American feet.”

She yawned. “I’ll need a shower.”

His footsteps faltered and he stared at the verra tempting female in his arms.

A blush spread across her cheeks and she looked at the ceiling, the floor, her hands . . . everywhere but at him.

Her hand fluttered to her hair in a nervous gesture. “I . . . I didn’t mean . . .”

“Oh?” Lord, she was an appealing woman when she was flustered. He fought a smile.

“That’s a service we dinna provide here at Matheson Lodge.” He climbed the stairway. His thoughts snagged on the image of her in the shower. Truth be told, he would love to step under a hot spray of water with her, run his hands and soap over her smooth skin until he’d lathered every inch of her body and then, God help him, he’d gladly lick off every tiny bubble. Christ, can a man climb the stairs with a feckin’ hard-on?

At Paisley’s door, he set her down and asked for her keycard. Once he’d opened the suite door, he ran his fingertips down her silky cheek. “Good night, lassie,” he whispered, not wanting to waken his family or their guests. “Sleep well. ’Tis a good thing ye’ve done tonight. We willna forget yer kindness nor yer impressive skills with animals.”

Her palms rested on his chest and her sky blue eyes tugged at his soul. “Thank you. Tonight was an experience I’ll never forget. I enjoyed getting to know you a little better. I was afraid of you before, but I’m not now.”

Something primal in him snapped. While her hands resting on his chest stirred his loins to the point of bursting, his fingertips itched to stroke the soft skin he longed to kiss. The urge to inhale her beguiling scent until he lined his lungs with it, so he’d always breathe in her essence, was so strong his male instinct overrode his restraint. The bear in him roared. Take! He backed her against the wall, his arms caging her forearms over her head. “Is that so, lassie?” Chest to chest, thigh to thigh, his gaze bore into her shocked eyes. “Aye, ye’d do well to be afraid of me, for I want ye naked, beneath me like I’ve never desired another woman before.”

A squeak escaped and her eyes widened for a beat before she ducked beneath his arm and scurried into her suite of rooms, slamming and locking the door behind her.

 Available for purchase at: Amazon

Author Bio: Vonnie Davis, who studied English at Penn State, likens herself to a croissant: crusty, wrinkled, flaky—and best served with strong coffee. After a career as a technical writer, she’s spending her retirement playing fairy godmother to her characters, giving them their happily-ever-afters. Six fantastic, talented kids call her “Grandma” and brighten her world in so many ways. She lives in Southern Virginia with her husband, author Calvin Davis.

Be sure to follow Vonnie atWebsite

http://www.tastybooktours.com/2014/06/now-booking-tasty-virtual-tour-for_6239.html

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 comments:

  1. Vonnie,

    I love your writing...One of the best writers I know...Can't wait to read this....

    Melinda

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a great book! Congratulations!!

    ReplyDelete